en	What is the Fediverse?
zh-hans	什么是联邦宇宙？

en	To exchange emails
zh-hans	为了交换电子邮件

en	do you need to join the email provider
zh-hans	你需要跟你的笔友

en	of your penpal?
zh-hans	加入同一个服务商吗？

en	How about their phone network?
zh-hans	那么电话网络呢？

en	[Meow]
zh-hans	[喵喵叫]

en	Of course you don’t
zh-hans	当然不用

en	because standards exist to federate these services
zh-hans	因为这些服务之间是联邦制的

en	enabling you to communicate with anyone
zh-hans	这就让你可以和任何人沟通

en	regardless of provider.
zh-hans	不论是什么服务商。

en	Without federation,
zh-hans	没有了联邦性，

en	you would have to subscribe
zh-hans	你就必须订阅

en	to multiple providers.
zh-hans	更多的服务商。

en	Or worse,
zh-hans	或者更糟，

en	the services with the most users
zh-hans	拥有最多用户的服务商

en	would hoover up everybody else,
zh-hans	会将所有其他用户吸走

en	eventually leading to monopolies
zh-hans	最终导致了垄断

en	and open to abuses.
zh-hans	而且容易导致滥用。

en	So why should everyone subscribe
zh-hans	所以为什么所有人都得

en	to the same platform to share videos and messages?
zh-hans	在同一个平台上分享视频和消息？

en	Why aren’t social networks federated?
zh-hans	为什么社交平台不是联邦制的呢？

en	Each planet here is like a service provider.
zh-hans	每一个星球就像是一个服务提供者。

en	With a centralized approach,
zh-hans	如果以中心化的方式，

en	you can only interact with the people
zh-hans	你只能和处于同一个星球

en	on the planet you live on.
zh-hans	生活的人产生交互。

en	Now imagine…
zh-hans	想象一下……

en	if you could communicate with people
zh-hans	如果你能和不同星球

en	on other planets.
zh-hans	上的人传递消息。

en	Imagine…
zh-hans	想象……

en	if you could share videos, events
zh-hans	你能分享视频、活动

en	instant messages, microblogs…
zh-hans	即时通信、微博客……

en	with the whole universe.
zh-hans	与整个宇宙。

en	Imagine…
zh-hans	想象……

en	if it didn’t matter which planet you came from.
zh-hans	你来自哪个星球并不重要。

en	Standards are a common language
zh-hans	软件之间的沟通

en	for software to communicate.
zh-hans	都说着同一种语言。

en	Your login on any one of these services
zh-hans	你可以登陆任意一个其中的服务提供者

en	allows you to interact
zh-hans	就能让你同整个

en	with a whole diverse universe
zh-hans	多元化的宇宙产生互动

en	whilst not being tied to just one corporation.
zh-hans	同时还不会被一个大公司所束缚。

en	This is… the Federated Universe.
zh-hans	这就是……联邦宇宙。

en	The Fediverse!
zh-hans	Fediverse!